The Environmental Label Jury

The independent decision-making body

The jury decides which product groups and service sectors should be awarded the Blue Angel. In addition, it discusses and ratifies the respective award criteria developed by the Federal Environment Agency. The members of the jury are independent and impartial. Membership of the jury is carried out on a voluntary and non-salaried basis.

Members of the Environmental Label Jury

The jury consists of 16 natural persons who are appointed by the Federal Environment Minister. 14 members of the jury are appointed for a period of three years in agreement with the Chairman of the German Conference of Environment Ministers (UMK). The jury involves all relevant social groups and includes representatives from environmental and consumer associations, as well as those from trade and industry. Two other members of the jury are representatives of the German federal states. One state representative is taken from the environment ministry of the state that currently holds the position of chairman of the UMK. The second is taken from the state that previously held the position of chairman of the UMK. In contrast to the other members, these state representatives are only appointed for a period of two years. The jury meets at least twice a year at their scheduled meetings. In between these meetings, the chairman represents the jury at events and discussions. In the first meeting for the relevant term of office, the jury elects a chairman from amongst the Environmental Label Jury and decides on their work programme for their term of office.


Current Environmental Label Jury:

Dr. Holger Brackemann

Foundation for Comparative Product Testing

Dr. Ralf-Rainer Braun

Deutscher Städtetag / Umweltamt Stadt Hagen

Kai Falk

German Retail Federation

Hannah Fuduric

Allgemeiner Studierendenausschuss der Rheinischen Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität Bonn Referat für Ökologie

Prof. Dr. Edeltraud Günther

United Nations University
Institute for Integrated Management of Material Fluxes and of Resources (UNU-FLORES)

Katharina Istel


Kathrin Krause

Federation of German Consumer Organisations

Kerstin Neitzel

Freie und Hansestadt Hamburg
Behörde für Umwelt und Energie

Jan Philipp Paprotny

DGB Bundesvorstand

Dr. Martin Peters

Zentralverband des Deutschen Handwerks e.V. / Handwerkskammer Berlin

Dorothee Rodenhäuser

Protestant Institute for Interdisciplinary Research, reg. Assoc.

Julia Römer

BUND (Friends of the Earth Germany) - National Executive Board

Franz-Josef von Kempis

Federation of German Industries
Department of Environmental Policy

Dr. Diana Wehlau

Freie Hansestadt Bremen / Der Senator für Umwelt, Bau und Verkehr